In or Out

Teenage years are just those awkward years where you transition from being a adolescent to being a responsible adult. Throughout those transition years there is just one thing that seems to be troubling. Finding a Job. As simple as it sounds it takes a lot of time out of your day to apply for the job and then after that you have that constant strain on your eyes from looking at your phone to see if you got a call or email back regarding an interview.  It’s a crazy predicament just to get noticed by the company you want to be employed by.

With the Interview in your hands, you suddenly get the rush of excitement and picture yourself doing the job in which you applied for. You get the idea that you practically got the job. However in most cases you don’t. Like always it is necessary to put in work to get the things you want. Interviews are practically an assessment for not only your ability to carry out the job being pursued but as well to test how bad you want the job and how hard you will work for it.

I had my first interview a couple of days ago with In-N-Out. I did my best and although it was a group interview, which may have suppressed my determination, I still received the experience of actually being in an interview. If I don’t get this job, then it is not a big deal because either way I gained something that will be useful in the near future. During my interview the assistant manager asked for an example of leadership that I have shown recently. I replied with the leadership that I provide in my Mock Trial Club but if I were ask myself that same exact question I would say that just interviewing for job itself shows leadership. I pushed myself to do this not because I wanted to but because I needed to and with that experience I am able to better myself and become more acquainted with the interview process. With that I will also be able to help my friends who will soon be interviewing and give them some tips that will encourage them to do their best. I’m glad that I experienced something so simple yet so nerve wrecking.

 

 

Leave a comment